Senate Panoramic

Today's Events: 03/28/2015

2015-16 Legislative Session

The Next Senate Floor Session will convene Monday, April 6, 2015, at 2 p.m.


Message from the Senate President pro Tem

Photo of Senate President pro Tem Kevin de LeónThank you for visiting the California Senate’s website. An engaged citizenry is the bedrock of a thriving democracy. To facilitate that participation, we hope you’ll visit our new live-streaming option where for the first time you can view all regularly scheduled hearings within the Capitol from your own computer, tablet or smart phone. We recognize not everyone can get to Sacramento to participate in the legislative process, so we'll bring those hearings to you.

Kevin de León
Senate President pro Tempore

Photos of the Week

  • Representatives from the Aerospace industry are joined by Minority Leader Bob Huff and Senators Janet Nguyen, Jean Fuller, Ben Allen, Sharon Runner, Patricia Bates, Joel Anderson and Hannah-Beth Jackson in recognition of California Aerospace Week

  • Senator Jean Fuller introduces the California Ambulance Association Stars of Life award recipients and commends them for their many contributions as first responders.

  • Senators Connie Leyva, Richard Pan, Hannah-Beth Jackson, Mark Leno, Lois Wolk, Mike McGuire, Marty Block, Andy Vidak and Jean Fuller gather to congratulate Molly Murphy MacGregor for her contributions to the National Women's History Project.

  • Members of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are welcomed to the Senate floor by Senators Richard Pan, Isadore Hall, Jean Fuller, Hannah-Beth Jackson and Sharon Runner 

  • Senators joined Assemblymembers in the Assembly chamber to listen to California Chief Justice Tani-Cantil-Sakauye's "State of the Judiciary" address on March 23, 2015

  • Supreme Court Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye is escorted to the Assembly dais to deliver her annual State of the Judiciary address before a joint session of the Legislature.

  • Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye and Senator Loni Hancock exchange pleasantries following the State of the Judiciary address.

  • The Supreme Court Chief Justice delivers her remarks to a joint session of the Legislature.

  • Senator Sharon Runner is sworn into office after a special election on March 17, 2015

  • From left: Fmr. Senator Denise Ducheny, Senator Lois Wolk, Fmr. Senator Dede Alpert, Senators Cathleen Galgiani, Jean Fuller and Hannah-Beth Jackson, Fmr. Senators Christine Kehoe and Ellen Corbet, Senator Kevin de Leon, Fmr. Senators Diane Watson, Elaine Alquist, Noreen Evans and Sharon Runner, Senators Janet Nguyen, Loni Hancock, Fmr. Senator Liz Figueroa, Senators Carol Liu and Patricia Bates.

  • Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson, as chair of the Legislative Women's Caucus addresses the crowd gathered for the re-dedication of the Rose Ann Vuich Hearing Room

  • A portrait of Rose Ann Vuich, the first woman elected to the Senate, hangs in Capitol hearing room 2040, along with the portraits of the 41 other women who have served, or are currently serving the state Senate.

  • Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León welcomes Congressman Kevin McCarthy, Majority Leader of the US House of Representatives to the Senate floor

  • Senators Ted Gaines and Cathleen Galgiani confer during Senate floor session

  • Senator Tony Mendoza presents a resolution to CTA Board Member, Tony Boyd in honor of Read Across America Day

Find Information

Oversight Hearings

Senate Calendar